journal

My Brew-tiful Valentine

Well, here we are, the weekend before Valentines day and once again the Cractpots are busy crafting our hearts out and spreading the love.
I really wanted this year’s Valentines to read, “Haters gonna hate but I don’t carrot all” but was outvoted because apparently you don’t make friends with carrots.
My second suggestion inspired an 80’s retro vibe by handing out little army men and reminding everyone “Love is a battlefield”. Unfortunately the average 10 year old hasn’t been introduced to Pat Benatar’s awesomeness yet, so that one also got vetoed.
We settled on stuffing paper hearts with treats, sealing them up and challenging classmates to “Go Ahead, Be a Heartbreaker”.
However you choose to express yourself, I hope you make a day of it, which for those of you that know me, just means adding yummy foods and beverages. For those of you that are new to the party, enjoy last years Valentines day post while I keep busy trying to monitor the glue stick use. It’s all fun and games until something gets stuck to the dog.
T.

T’was the weekend before Valentine’s Day, and all through the house, not a creature was stirring…but they were busy cutting, colouring and gluing over 50 homemade Valentines.

Every year, after the insane rush of the holiday season, the CracTpot household starts to gets a little cocky with so much time on our hands, but luckily, February rolls around with demands of its own.

When my oldest daughter started kindergarten, I was still trying to impress the world with my parenting skills. I was determined not to waste hard earned money on flimsy little pieces of cardboard only to spend the next few hours staring at the maniacally grinning face of Dora the Explorer, trying not to tear my hair out while keeping a 5 year old focused on addressing 25 Valentines.  I was convinced I could do it better. How hard could it be to construct my own flimsy pieces of cardboard?

View original post 854 more words

Leave a Reply

